Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 25th, 2009

My First Birkenstock

Yh bought me my first Birkenstock (It’s a Papillio) today… Shit, talking about this, forgot to return him some money for the sandals. There is a superstitious belief among some Chinese, that if a guy gives his lady a pair of shoes (or any other footwear), she will run away from him. Sames goes for the scenario if a lady buys her man a pair of shoes. So, go buy a pair of shoes for your partner if you want him/her to leave you asap! 🙂

Here’s my Papillio! A bit heartpain buying it as it is quite costly, but ALL my shoes give me blisters and I really need something comfortable and decent-looking apart from those cheap rubbery slippers. Not that I despise cheap things, I really love my HK white rubber slippers that has a big white flower on the stem (Don’t know what you call that, it’s the thing that your toes “giap”/cling on to) and it’s only less than SGD $20!!!!! But I cannot find anything as nice as that in Singapore leh. Should have bought 10 pairs back. Now it’s dirty; Even if I were to scrub it, it still looks slightly dirty and that might cause the soles to wear off more quickly, thus more slippery.

We spent more than 45 mins in the shop as I could not decide between getting a size 39 or size 40! The sandals won’t be comfortable for now as I will need some time to season them. The guy quite funny, he says I can probably try seasoning it by wearing it at home…. HUH? hahahahahaa. Are there really people who do such things?!

Anyway, if you want to buy a pair of Birkenstock, go to the one at Wheellock Place – They have better service. The Centrepoint branch staff don’t have much product knowledge and the worst service is from the one at Raffles City. There was once we were in there about 10 mins before their shop’s closing time, and the staff actually walked to every customer and chased everyone out of the shop. NOT politely. I think the guy said something like “Please leave our shop as we are closing in 5 mins’ time.” Something along the line lah. Definitely pisses everyone out of their shop. And I will NEVER step in there again..

P.S. Yh pronounces “Birkenstock” as “Brokenstock”.. Hmm….

Read Full Post »